n=1

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well I did something new.  No, I didn’t grow some hair.  I decided to take a supplement. I’ve been kicking the idea around for a little while.  You see, this may come as a surprise to you, but I’m not getting any younger.  I haven’t been bouncing back after my workouts like I used to.  I’ve been having a hard time getting motivated after any particular beat downs.  I’ve felt tired and rundown.  I tried to take some time off.  I increased my rest.  I shortened the workouts.  I trained for strength.  None of those seemed to help.

So recently on Twitter I hooked up with Progenex and starting following their tweets.  I won’t bore you with the details but I ended up with a free sample of PROGENEX Recovery.  Once they arrived in the mail I committed to giving it an honest trial.  My very own “clinical trial”.  I don’t care what happens to other people when they take something.  It makes for a nice story, but I need to know for myself.  So with my test subjects (me, n=1), I was ready to begin.

You see, I have never taken any sort of supplement on my own volition.  I took Creatine monohydrate while I was playing football in college.  The school provided it.  And it was awful.  It was like drinking sand.  I don’t know that there was any improvement in my strength that would be attributed to the Creatine.  We worked out like mad.  We lifted 4day/wk.  We ate massive amounts of bad food and got really strong.  I was also 21-22 years old.  I could lift a house and run like a deer.  I’m sure that that had a major role in that training program.  There were other guys on the team that took other supplements.  It was mostly for weight gaining purposes, but I just never really thought that much about it.

Fast forward 15 years and I still really didn’t think that there was anything to taking supplements.  I had always associated them with the beefcakes that super-set hammer curls and calf raises at the Globo Gym.  But how could I pass up a free sample. I set out to give it an honest assessment.  That is to say I took the product as directed.  After every workout for 2 weeks I mixed up a shake.  I took it at the prescribed time (within 30 minutes post workout) and just tried to be aware of how I felt.

I did some workouts that I knew would normally put me down for a few days.  The thing is that didn’t happen.  I felt great.  I was still sore but I always felt ready to workout the next day.  Even on my scheduled rest days I had to force myself to do nothing.  I wanted to workout.  I felt like I was ready to hit it again.

After my trial run ran out, it was back to the same ol’ thing.  I had a hard time getting motivated.  It was at this time that I pulled the trigger and ordered a bag of Recovery for myself.  I’m about a week into this bag and I have to say that I couldn’t be happier with the results.  In fact, I hit a PR on FRAN today.  And the thing is, I know I can go faster.  I didn’t throw up and I don’t have the post Fran cough.  I think I scared myself to tell you the truth.  It was the “easiest Fran” I’ve done.  If that’s possible.  In fact I’m upset at the fact that I didn’t go harder but I’ll leave that for another post.

So put me on the bandwagon.  There are a ton of people out there in the CrossFit community singing the praises of PROGENEX and I’ll lump myself in that group.  I would not have a problem recommending it to anyone looking to recover quickly after a workout that involves constantly varied, functional movements performed at high intensity.  And one more thing, It tastes good.  That is a plus.  If it helped me perform better I could look the other way on the taste but I didn’t have to deal with that.

I like it so much that I signed up to be a PROGENEX Affiliate.  I’ve added a widget button in the left sidebar.  By ordering through that button, you’ll get a 10% discount.  If you want to order straight from their website use the discount code BOYD for the same discount. Let me know if you give it a try and tell me about your results.

Comments
  1. I read your post and felt the same way. I too became a Progenex Affiliate due to the results and just how much I believe in it. Way to go and keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

