Quitters

Posted: May 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m lucky enough that I have not surrounded myself with many quitters. (None come to mind.) Not quitting is one of the greatest things that my parents taught me. Once you start something you need to stay the course, even if you don’t like it. Do you know what that is called? COMMITMENT. Never Give Up! Not only do you commit to yourself, you make a commitment to the team. The other guys that lace’em up with you. There’s a saying that goes, “The harder you work, the harder it is to quit.” I believe this with all my heart.

Mr. Redmond dedicated his life to training for the Olympic games. When he was hit with an injury mid-race he still only had one thing on his mind, FINISH. Walking off that track without crossing the finish line was not even a thought in his mind.

I’m posting about this because at a recent soccer tournament for my son’s team, 2 players quit. That’s right. These 2 kids quit mid-tournament. They were scheduled for two games on Saturday with more games to follow on Sunday and these players quit after the first game. The team lost a one-sided game 8-1. The boys never showed up for the second game. Their parents relayed to news through the team manager to the coach that they were QUITTING THE TEAM. Can you believe this? No wonder our country is screwed up. I’ll say this out right. It’s not the fault of the kids. They don’t know any better. The parents should catch all the heat on this one. They are the ones we should be calling quitters. They have basically said that it’s OK to quit when things don’t go your way. Have a bad day at school, Quit. Not happy with work, Quit. Coach doesn’t give you the amount of playing time that you think you deserve, QUIT!.


You can rest assured that if you train at DUNAMIS, I will make sure that you don’t quit. You can slow down, puke, take a breathe, or rest, but YOU WILL FINISH. Maybe I need to thank those kids’ parents. They reminded me how much I hate quitters. After all, I don’t see to many around these parts.

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Amen. (Love the videos.)

Leave a Reply

